* Govs take war to President Buhari 

* Drop 4 ‘anointed’ aspirants, adopt Adamu as National Chairman 

Full results of the outcome of the ongoing national convention of the All Progressives Congress, APC, are being awaited from the nation’s capital, Abuja.

Although votes cast by delegates at Eagle Square were being tallied all night, four key offices in the party’s national executive have been officially filled.

Vote counting at the venue of the convention is still going on, according to the Port Harcourt Telegraph, which is monitoring events.

The APC is expected to release the list of all elected officials later on Sunday after final collation has been done.

However, we have learnt through official APC channels that the names of four key officials – the National Chairman, National Secretary, National Organizing Secretary and National Publicity Secretary – have been released.

Senator Abdullahi Adamu from Nassawara State whom many say, money cannot buy, is the new National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress.

He will take over the reins of party administration from Governor Mai Bala Buni of Yobe State after he is sworn in as Chairman of the Caretaker Committee.

Supported by APC Governors, Senator Iyiola Omisore who is from the State of Osun in the South West came from behind, shoved aside the aspirantion of an ‘anointed aspirant’ who wore a badge as the President’s nominee and emerged as the National Secretary.

Read Also  APC Presidential Race: Ken Nnamani withdraws

Also elected are Mr. Felix Morka, National Publicity Secretary and Suleiman Muhammad Argungu from Kebbi State who is now the new National Organizing Secretary.

Argungu was not expected to be on the ballot, but powerful forces, including Governors who did not want to follow the lead of the President, used him as a replacement of someone anointed by the President.

The development, which is now a major talking point, came as a great shock to those who had schemed to ride to power or control party apparatus at the centre on the back of Mr. President.

A total of 7,584 delegates assembled at the Eagle Square Saturday, to decide the membership of the party’s National Working Committee, NWC.

There are indications that the conduct of the convention was largely smooth and peaceful.

But, there are segments of the party, according to information reaching our news desk, that are relatively unhappy with what is going on in Abuja.

The Telegraph learnt deep concerns were being expressed last night in some quarters, suggesting there may be reactions from those who may be feeling short changed.

Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Transportation and a presidential hopeful was one of those who could not vote at the convention.

He was sidelined by a party directive that said serving political appointees would at best attend as observers, following the framing of the Electoral Act which is being contested in court.

Read Also  Happening Now!: 'Okwute' flays Amaechi, others, says Abe is unstoppable

Given what is playing out, some members of a political camp that is pushing for the emergence of a presidential aspirant as the next candidate of the APC are reportedly jittery.

From their perspective, the final consensus list that is now in the public domain did not appear to go the way it was anticipated.

“Nothing is certain for now. We are watching to see how all this pans out in the end”, a member of the camp participating as a delegate remarked Saturday evening.

“We have worked hard, very hard. I guess what we have right now is the best of a unity convention that we in the APC have planned to deliver to Nigerians”, a serving lawmaker in Abuja told a Telegraph Correspondent.

“Not many Nigerians, especially those in the opposition, thought our great party could have overcome numerous difficulties and differences, to hold such a huge event”, a delegate from Rivers State remarked in an interview.

“We are glad that as you (Telegraph) reported earlier our own Victor Giadom scaled through as the National Vice Chairman South South”, a female member from Rivers State who is part of the Rotimi Amaechi team declared.

“Where are they now”, she asked, apparently referring to the Abe group, “We told them their antics won’t work. Have they worked now?”

Read Also  PMB's Govt: Akpabio throws in the towel

Information filtering out of the convention grounds suggest President Muhammadu Buhari who was at the Eagle Square may not have completely had his way.

At least, four persons whose names were being linked to the President’s lobby were eliminated.

Former Senate President Ken Nnamani as well as a former member of the House of Representatives, Farouk Adamu Aliyu are among so-called anointed candidates kicked out by APC’s Governors.

Others are Engineer Ife Oyedele and Architect Waziri Bulama.

The four men were expected to occupy the position of the deputy national chairman (South), deputy national chairman (North), national secretary and organising secretary respectively.

Apparently defying President Buhari, the governors nominated Chief Emma Enuekwu, Senator Abubakar Kyari, Senator Iyiola Omisore, and Suleiman M. Argungu.

At least, 76 names are on the full consensus list obtained by the Telegraph.