The newly completed rail station at Itakpe in Delta State is to be named after former President Goodluck Jonathan.
President Jonathan, it will be recalled, handed over the reins of office to President Muhammadu Buhari in 2015 despite pressures from certain elements within his party, the PDP, who were opposed to the smooth transition of power after that historic election.
The Minister of Transportation, Rt. Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi who took to Twitter to announce the completion of the project disclosed it would be named after President Buhari’s predecessor in office.
Displaying pictures of the completed rail station on his Twitter handle, Amaechi remarked, “This Is The Completed Itakpe-Agenebode-Ubiaja-Agbor-warri Rail & Trains Stations. Done & Ready For Official Opening!!
“It will be named after former President @GEJonathan Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.”
Jonathan had played a critical role before he left office in rejigging Nigeria’s plan to restore its railway system.
He is credited with commencing work on the Abuja-Kaduna rail line.

Read Also  Rivers : Wike may not have served as Amaechi's Chief of Staff if...