The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has released a timetable for the screening of its presidential and gubernatorial aspirants.

Also to be screened in Abuja are all aspirants for the National Assembly and state assemblies in all the seven states in the Northwest.

The screening of aspirants for the same categories of office holders will however take place at zonal offices of the party in the remaining states except Anambra.

Although the party may not have explained why it is moving the screening of aspirants from the North West to Abuja, the state of insecurity in the zone may be the primary reason.

The security situation in South East may explain why Anambra has been similarly put on hold.

PDP’s decision to proceed with the screening of its aspirants is coming as Nigerians await further discussions on zoning, which is expected to take place in May.

According to the guidelines issued by the party, the screening of the 17 aspirants will commence on Friday.


Chief David Mark (PDP, Benue) is at the head of a nine-man committee that will handle the exercise.

Among those who will face the screening panel are Governor Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Governor Bala Mohammed (Bauchi), Governor Udim Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom), Governor Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto),former Governor of Anambra State, Peter Obi and former Ekiti State Governor, Ayo Fayose.

Read Also  Ayu still National Chairman - PDP

Former Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Pius Anyim, former Vice- President Atiku Abubakar, ex-Senate President Bukola Saraki, renowned industrialist Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, and a former bank chief, Mohammed Hayatu-Deen.

Others are Ovation Magazine publisher Dele Momodu and a United States-based medical doctor, Nwachukwu, Cosmos Ndukwe, Charles Ugwu, Chikwendu Kalu and Tariele Diana Oliver.

The nine-man committee which will grill aspirants, from the statement issued by the PDP has members has Chief Celestine Omehia, a former Governor of Rivers State, Chief Mike Ahamba, SAN, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko, Edward Ashiekaa, SAN, and Mrs. Hilda Makonto as members.

Others are Dr. Akiku Indabawa, Hajiya Hassana Dikko, Dr. Esther Uduehi, while Ms. Chinedu Nwachukwu will serve as administrative secretary to the committee.